Posted by: x | November 5, 2010

Fall Crafts

One of my girl’s friends stayed with us the past four days.

Naturally, I tried to fool her into thinking that life here is fun-filled all the time.

I pulled out some of the Thanksgiving projects I did as a child. We made Native American headbands (or “Indian” if you aren’t p.c. like me). And we traced our hands to make turkeys.

I’m still waiting for the right moment to tell my girls that the turkey we eat on Thanksgiving is, in fact, the same thing as the pretty ones they’ve been drawing. They don’t seem to have caught on yet.

The last time my girl was eating a chicken leg, she asked why it was called a leg. “Because it’s the chicken’s leg,” I said. She was silent for about 30 seconds while the wheels turned in her little head. Oh no, had I not been sensitive enough? Maybe I should have explained more thoroughly. Because you never know how a child might react to the facts of life. She might stubbornly refuse to eat meat for years, stunting her growth. At least, I’ve heard of such things.

But then my thoughts were interrupted by a matter-of-fact “Oh,” and she continued to eat. And I let out a sigh of relief.

Responses

  1. “She might stubbornly refuse to eat meat for years, stunting her growth. At least, I’ve heard of such things.”

    hahahaha – now where would you have heard that? 😉

    Love you. And your blog. And very soon I will make one too. Hopefully it will be as good as yours (:

  2. Well, if your blog has anything to do with, say, living in Italy, it will be much better than mine!


Leave a Reply

Categories

