Posted by: x | November 8, 2010

Powering up

My man makes electricity. This is where he works.

I took a field trip to the visitor center (not pictured) once when I was in school. I remember thinking it was all really complicated and not very interesting. I wished we could have gone to an art museum instead. I didn’t realize then, how very interested I would be one day.

And while I still don’t understand the complexities of nuclear power, I can tell you that the big tower is a cooling tower, not a smokestack. There is nothing but steam coming out of it — the same thing that comes out of a pot of boiling water on your stove — just a lot more of it. My girls call it “Daddy’s cloud.”

For the last month and half, however, there hasn’t been any steam coming out. Every 18 months, they shut it down to refuel. This time, they had the added bonus of replacing the turbine generator. There’s just one catch though. In order to be shut down for as little time as possible, they all have to work about 75 hours a week, around the clock. My man is working nights.

Now you know why you haven’t seen much of him lately. Don’t feel bad. I haven’t seen him much either. Instead, this is where he’s been.

He’s changed a lot since you last saw him.

For security reasons, they can’t take photos inside the plant. So I had to use one of the company photos.

The good news is that they are powering up again! That’s right, in a couple weeks, my man will emerge from his nocturnal nuclear life and re-enter normal society. I might even get him to shave his mustache.

In the meantime, if you have any questions about how nuclear power works, just write to me. I’ll be glad to answer all your questions. Just as soon as I finish up that nuclear physics degree.

 

Responses

  1. […] man is an operator in the control room at a nuclear power plant. Now this doesn’t make me an expert, although I’ve learned a lot about it. But it does […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

