Posted by: x | November 17, 2010

Roasted Broccoli

My two-year-old loves broccoli.

It’s one of the many things about her that makes we wonder where she came from.

I do not like broccoli. My man does not like broccoli.

Until I discovered roasted broccoli.

Now, we both love it.

This is how I make it.

Chop off the yucky stems and toss them in the trash.

Or compost, if you’re an all-natural, green, sort of person.

Cut the tops into bite-size pieces.

Did I mention I have a two-year-old? Bite-size means very small.

Spread the broccoli on a roasting pan.

Add some diced garlic, chopped walnuts, kosher salt, and fresh ground pepper.

Then douse the whole mixture with olive oil and toss it around to coat it well.

There are two things you will always find in my kitchen — olive oil and garlic.

If I don’t have these essential cooking ingredients, something is very wrong.

Roast at 375 degrees for 18-20 minutes, depending how crisp you want it to be.

Eat it alone, toss it with rice, couscous, pasta, or use it to top a baked potato.

The possibilities are endless.

Last night, I mixed it with pipette pasta and cream cheese.

Even if you don’t like broccoli, you will like this. Just trust me.

 

Responses

  1. You don’t know where she came from? Have you forgotten her Aunt Bethany and how much she LOVED green veggies as a kid? In fact, when I was really little I liked the “yucky” stalks better than the crowns, haha.

    The roasted broccoli looks yummy, I’ll have to give it a try!

  2. This sounds great! The family has trouble with broccoli, think I found a solution. Have a delicious #WalnutWednesday!

  3. She not only looks like Poppy – she has the same taste in food! He definitely loved his veggies!


Leave a Reply

Categories

