Posted by: x | December 24, 2010

Four Christmases

Yes, that’s the name of a movie from a few years ago…I haven’t actually seen it.

But ironically, we do have four Christmases each year. And it all begins today!

Christmas number 1: Christmas Eve at Nana and Papa’s

Dinner at my in-law’s, featuring a honey baked ham from Granddad.

Last year, I made Pioneer Woman’s rum cake, and it has been requested once again.

Lots of gifts, and gingerbread houses for the kids to decorate!

Christmas number 2: Christmas morning at home

My man, my girls, and I empty our stockings and exchange gifts in front of the fire.

Breakfast consists of cinnamon rolls, clementines and candy from our stockings.

Then, we get cleaned up and head to my parents’ house for….

Christmas number 3: Christmas day at Mimi and Pop’s

As many of us as possible will cram into the kitchen to make dinner together.

Lots of gifts and merry-making, with plenty of references to Festivus.

The appearance of my second rum cake, Lord willing.

Christmas number 4: The day after with the Scribners

Our longest running tradition…lots of aunts and uncles and cousins.

Food and wine and more food, all day long. And football!

My famous pecan pie will make a brief appearance, before being inhaled 🙂

 

Whatever your plans, however many Christmases you have —

Merry Christmas!


Responses

  1. Joy, you haven’t updated your blog in over a week. This is scandalous. Also, I miss you


Leave a Reply

Categories

