Posted by: x | July 1, 2011

Italia!

On Valentines Day, my man said that he wanted to take me to Italy, one of my favorite places in the world.

But how could we afford it? Who would take care of our girls? When could we fit in such a big vacation?

We finally settled all of these questions, and decided to stay in Chianti and visit Firenze.

And so, at the end of May, we found ourselves here.

We rented a studio apartment at this beautiful villa, and spent time wandering around the olive groves and vineyards.

We even got to see where they make the wine!

Then we were off to Firenze (Florence)!

We visited the Ponte Vecchio (Old Bridge).

We climbed the 465 stairs to the top of the Duomo, where the view was amazing!

We frequented a local ristorante where my man tried the Bistecca Fiorentino, and realized that Italians can make more than good pasta.

And of course there was plenty of vino…

…and gelato too.

Unfortunately there are no pictures of the gelato. I always seemed to eat it too fast for some reason.

A side note about gelato:
It had been 11 years since I had Italian gelato. Since that time, I had tried so many places this side of the Atlantic that claimed to make real Italian gelato, but it was never the same. I finally gave up, and thought maybe I was just remembering it better than it actually was. But then I went back and had real gelato again, and realized it was not all in my head. It was every bit as heavenly as the first time I tasted it.

We also went to the Uffizi to visit Giotto and Botticelli.

And of course we shopped!

Because while there are many wonderful things made in the U.S.A., there are some things the Italians do far better…like shoes!

We tried to rent one of these, but it didn’t work out.

Oh well…maybe next time 🙂

And last, but not least, we crossed the Arno to visit the Boboli Gardens.

It was an amazing romantic adventure.

Thanks again to all the people that made it possible by watching our girls while we were gone!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Ahhhhh, it looks like a most fabulous adventure. I’m a little more than a wee bit jealous! Next time I will stow away in your suitcase 🙂

  2. Great pictures! So happy for you!

  3. lovely lovely!


Leave a Reply

Categories

